Danger Isn’t My Middle Name

Posted: May 1, 2012 in Uncategorized

You’re about 35 times more likely to be killed in a motorcycle accident than a car accident. If you’re one of the 13 people who read this blog, you’ll know that I’m a believer in helmets and appropriate riding clothing. Even then, it’s pretty dangerous. So why ride at all?

Well, I’ve had plenty of honest-to-goodness brushes with death, including a day that ended with a danger-close F-16 strike with a 500lb GBU38. I’ve had rather enough of danger, though I’m not about to wrap my new house in bubblewrap and never leave my bedroom. I’ve heard other, regular people say they get a kick out of riding, and to be sure, I’ve had a few heart-pounding moments. Mainly misjudged corner entry speeds and elderly folks who don’t like to stop at STOP signs. But that isn’t why I sold all of my tacticool guns and bought a bike.

I’ve always enjoyed driving. So much so that I used a big chunk of my deployment money to buy a 2011 Subaru WRX. My wife and I drove it to Colorado and drove it on some awesome mountain roads. But riding is a more visceral experience. Bad roads beat on your spine. The wind tries to rip you off your ride. Bugs and birds try to murder you at speeds over 35mph. Weather is a bear. There is nothing between you and the experience of the road. And it’s awesome. It is totally different than anything you will experience in a car. And that’s what makes riding worth it.

Leave a Reply

