You Have My Attention…

Posted: May 17, 2012 in Uncategorized

My under-employment has given me a couple of days to ponder my next bike really carefully. And probably with a bit of unhealthy obsession.

I’ve narrowed my search down to the Triumph Bonneville and Yamaha FZ6 for the non-cruiser category. I’ve looked up written and video reviews of each, and what I find striking is the FZ6’s raw power. No, it isn’t as fast as a supersport like the R1 or Hayabusa, but it is still extremely fast. I like to think of it as a “light power-tourer”. I’ve made arrangements to go look at a 2007 FZ6 at a local dealer over the weekend and see how comfortable it really is. Google uncovered story after story of guys who simply put on hard bags and a touring seat and go for a couple of days straight. The FZ6’s relatively large fuel capacity, combined with about 50mpg highway makes for a bike with around a 200 mile range. It has a cool half-fairing, underseat exhausts to prevent leg burns, and can go 0-60 in under 4 seconds and on to a top speed very near 140mph.

However, the FZ6 isn’t without complaints. Some say the clutch doesn’t do anything until the last 1/3 of movement, some think the driveline has excessive lash, and it still suffers from low-rev dogginess because of its four cylinder mill–though not as much as most sportbikes do. I will find out this weekend, I hope. As long as the FZ6 I’ve found is still on the dealer lot for me to at least sit on and obsess over.

Leave a Reply

